Barkley University

• 1.4K Views
  • Last Post 19 March 2015
mbracco posted this 21 July 2014 - Last edited 06 August 2015

Looking for information for a friend who wants to attend Barkley Universiy (National Accreditation) is what their website states. I have my degree from a Middle States Commission on Higher Education. I don't want to see her get scammed. Cannot find any information on this site about this school. Thank you

5 Comments
Kayleigh posted this 22 July 2014 - Last edited 22 October 2015

Hi,

Great question!

You state that Barkley University holds National Accreditation but it's looks like they are claiming accreditation from the following (as stated on barkleyuniversity.com):

• IACOEI (International Accreditation Commission for Online Educational Institutions)
  • AAC (Arab Accreditation Council)
  • GABDE (Global Accreditation Board For Distance Education)
  • IABETE (International Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology Education)
  • AABSP (Association for Accreditation of Business Schools and Programs)

Perhaps I'm looking at the wrong school / website. Can you add the website URL you were looking at?

Here is some information that will help regardless!

National Accreditation is "real" accreditation approved by both CHEA and the U.S. Dept. of Education. There are, however, some big differences between Regional Accreditation and National Accreditation.

SEE: Regional Vs. National Accreditation: Which is Best for Online Colleges?

Barkley University claims accreditation from some very official sounding organizations. Unfortunately, NONE of these organizations are approved by the U.S. Dept. of Education or CHEA to accredit online education.

We would NOT recommend anyone enroll in an online degree program unless their accreditation is approved by the U.S. Dept. of Education or CHEA.

SEE: Top 10 Signs of a Diploma Mill Scam
SEE: List of Fake College Accreditation Agencies