How to Apply for Universities in USA

• Last Post 01 December 2011
pricey42 posted this 30 November 2011 - Last edited 24 February 2016

Having recently researched various Universities within the US with a view towards earning an online Business Management Degree, I have found that the courses and curriculum offered by The State University of NY (SUNY) suit my needs perfectly. The information that I seek is what do I do next to apply? I do not hold any US educational qualifications and would have to write to my local educational authority within the UK to see if I could obtain my certifications (earned in 1985) and have no real clue as to how long this would take to achieve.

I had heard, however that my working experience could be used to compensate my lack of US qualifications and enter me onto any degree course I wished. I will await confirmation from you if that is the case in due course.

For your information, my background is this. I have recently retired from the UK Royal Navy where I served as a Petty Officer Writer (US counterpart of a MSgt) for 15 years including a successful assignment to the British Embassy here in Washington DC. After marrying my American wife last year and obtaining my ‘Green Card’ (Permanent Residency), I am now currently employed (again) with the British Embassy in DC this time working as a civilian for the Royal Air Force. I become a US citizen in 2013. Given the economic climate globally and the continuing difficult job market in this country, I have decided that now is the ideal time to enhance my future working potential and earn a degree which I am sure is now a vital tool in anyone’s armoury.

To this end, please allow me to thank you for your assistance as I really do look forward to hearing a favourable reply back from you soonest.

David Price

BDSUS RAF ASEC British Embassy

1 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 01 December 2011 - Last edited 21 October 2015

Hi David,

Great questions!