Belford University Scam

• Last Post 04 October 2013
smitty_sca posted this 23 August 2012 - Last edited 25 February 2016

I got a degree thru these people years back and believed it was accredited. I am now being contacted by them to "legalize" my diploma. It was illegal? Anyways, they are claiming they are accredited through the US Dept of State and I need to get my diploma legalized through the Dept of State and it will be recognized as accredited by any university in us, canada or globally. The fee to have this done is reduced until the end of the month. Is this possible?

11 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 23 August 2012 - Last edited 22 October 2015

Hi Smitty,

For awhile Belford University claimed accreditation by an UNRECOGNIZED AGENCY; right now,Belford University on their website, they do state that they are NOT accredited by any agency recognized by the US Dept of Education; that is TRUE.

That apostille is another issue altogether .. The Apostille, Accreditation, and Degree Mills Degree mills use many terms in their efforts to confuse consumers.

They want people, like you, to believe that these terms mean the same thing as "accredited" or "legal." They do not.

One of the terms degree mills love to use is "apostille." Another is "notarized." Neither of these terms mean the same thing as "accredited" and neither term has anything to do with certifying that the college itself that awarded said documents/diploma is legal or real in any country.

An apostille is a certification or notarization, usually by a government agency, that the document you want to present to someone in another foreign country -- say a potential employer -- is a true and accurate copy of the original document you are showing them in your home country.