Stevens-Henager Independence University Scam

• 1.3K Views
  • Last Post 16 September 2014
jcsmitty2 posted this 07 August 2014 - Last edited 25 February 2016

I JUST found this site today after searching for online masters of health promotion degrees (No GRE) and stumbled on this site. I've been researching several schools over the past two weeks and came across one called Independence University. I noticed the admissions person's email ended with steven henager.edu. Something told me to google that name and I was shocked that they are the center of a lawsuit at their main Idaho campus. I'm still learning about them, but apparently the program that I am interested in is at their Utah school. There's articles from the Hunnington Times and even a local news station in Utah interviewed two whistle-blowers! I'm really concerned. Does ANYONE out there know anything about either of these institutions? Thank you so much!

2 Comments
Kayleigh posted this 28 August 2014 - Last edited 22 October 2015

Hi there,

After some digging it looks like Independence University operates as the online extension of Stevens-Henager College, a for profit university based in Idaho.

Stevens-Henager College is indeed involved in a lawsuit for illegal student recruitment practices. More information.

High five for you cautiousness, however, as diploma mills do often change their name and/or location once they've encountered trouble or bad press.

But, Independence University is a real online institution accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) which is approved by CHEA and the U.S. Dept. of Education. It is based in Utah.

Accreditation is the first thing to check when you are researching online school options. In this case, Independence University is a fully accredited vocationally-geared online school.