Certificate in Health Management

• Last Post 16 October 2012
skyarc posted this 08 August 2011 - Last edited 06 August 2015

Hi

I have a MBA degree in marketing from India. I been in living in US for the last 4 years raising my family and simply being a housewife. However I now want to start working again. The healthcare industry interests me and I am thinking of doing a certificate course in healthcare management to supplement my education.

Can you pls. advise some courses on the same both online as well as on-campus? I am considering the Graduate Certificate in Health Services Management from Devry University but I have read mixed reviews about the university.

At this age of my career I am not willing to experiment and looking for a stable career in healthcare industry but I believe that with an MBA degree on my back I need to do a few specialized courses to get into the industry. will appreciate your advice on my career prospects.

3 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 08 August 2011 - Last edited 25 October 2015

Hello Sky,

I think this is a smart strategy. If you have a general MBA degree than it makes sense to specialize for career change or entry by earning a grad level certificate.

SEE: What Is an Online Graduate Certificate for More on why/how to use a Graduate level online certificate. This article echoes your strategy.

Healthcare is, of course, one of the few bright spots in hiring and in management pay. Managers and business developers in healthcare earn much more than those who specialize in sectors like travel or hospitality or manufacturing or retail. While nothing is recession proof healthcare is a great career specialty these days.

Get Educated only profiles online education so I can make suggestions for online courses and certificates but you can transfer some of what I say to the residential college environment.