Back to School to Finish Master's Online?

• Last Post 21 January 2013
Jon Skor posted this 21 January 2013 - Last edited 15 March 2016

I have a question concerning finishing my Masters Degree in Counseling. I started it years ago and was almost finished (within one or two courses), but had to drop out due to health reasons.I was teaching in St.Paul, Mn. (also, asst. principal) and attended graduate school at the University of Wisc.--River Falls. Before, I could finish, we moved to Montana, making the commute way to far, obviously. I would like to finish this degree in order to have the MA or MS degree. I am not going to use the degree in a school setting, as I am 72 and am way too old for that. I am an author and would like to have this to maybe make my writings "'appear' at least'" more 'authentic' (prob. not the correct word). I have published one book and am working on others. Do you have a recommendation of a college or university that would accept my credits and allow me to finish? I now live in Sacramento,Ca, work full time, and would like to finish online. I really don't want to use a 'Diploma Mill', as I have completed most of the work. I don't think that the U of W-RF will let me finish there. Thank-you! Jon

1 Comments
VickyPhillips posted this 21 January 2013 - Last edited 06 August 2015

Hi Jon,

Thanks for the great question. You'd be surprised how many students drop our or stop out at the end of their master's or doctorate degree program.

In the old days moving meant you HAD to stop your studies.

Today, 2 major issues face you in your quest to complete your old master's degree online: